top of page

imagination

a glance can save your life. one look, and you can fall like never before.




an old fashioned love story, you and I

eyes meeting like sinking ships scream die

a rose tinted vision, your lapel flower

thunderstorms outside my captive tower

of reason, convention, loyalty, respect

hundreds of hours spent in retrospect

of the night those sinking ships touched

mast to mast, the injury to my crutch

now i am at service, bright yellow sun bellows

you aren't there but your scent is close

my husband smirks at the rector's joke

his ring on my finger, reason enough to choke

our love, my life, his pride, my mind

gone to the dust, a fine grind

salvation comes only in my dreams

where those sinking ships incessantly scream

i will ruin myself for you in a million little ways

call my name, and i will stray

but how do i call you, your name is unknown

your hands a figment of my heart like stone

your breath mixed with the rains of tomorrow

your soul immersed in the ocean of my sorrow

so here i am, wiping his plates

cleaning his bloody, heartless slate

convention satisfied, loyalty retained

a fresh set of red marks on this complacent skin gained

an incomplete letter, you and i

i am the bold one, you are shy

my mind weaves us into yarns impossible

your fingers touch my skin only to make it tremble

your love is what will suffice

in my empty, lost, defeated crevice

but time's up, i must snap back

laugh at the pun my captor cracks

look at you from afar and say to the wind

lift up that carved, artistic chin

look at me, just one more time

and it will be the perfect crime.

bottom of page