top of page

Finding my Faith



They say that faith comes to the pure

That it is the way we eat

And the way we sit

And the way we behave

That decides who is deserving enough of faith

They say that those who are unruly

And rebellious

Those, who think differently from others

Can never have the same faith

As those who fit well in

They say that faith is according to your goodness

And that badness brings you a black hollow

A deep, dark spiral downwards

Where there's no shimmer of light.

But they're wrong.

They're all wrong

Because I found my faith

In a glass of wine

And dim lights

And a smirk that was better than a thousand words

I found my faith In soft, pink hands And strokes on the edges Of my naked body I found my faith In a scotch ridden breath And late night chatters And in the sin Of a perfect chocolate cake I found my faith In those little moments Where you and I Lay undisturbed Undistracted Incommunicado Where we bared our souls And laced our breaths And just saw The rawness of our creation I found my faith On a Saturday night After a monsoon shower And a candle lit dinner With your warmth keeping me still And your words Weaving webs in my brain I found my faith The moment I knew I'd lost myself.


bottom of page