top of page

Beautiful

To those who call people beautiful in random moments: you are bright rays of sunshine on a cold, windblown day.

You call me pretty at the random-est moments, Moments when I'm a mess, Moments, when I'm lost Lost in the glaring realities of the world You pull me out of that And take me to a mirror world You call me pretty in the dullest mornings, Mornings when I'm rushed, Mornings, when everywhere I see is grey, And you spill colors all over that And paint me a rainbow, You call me pretty in hot afternoons, Afternoons where I am exhausted Afternoons, where every minute is a drag And you give me something to be energetic for You call me pretty in the darkest nights, Nights when even the moon is afraid of the dark, Nights, when I miss the other me Nights, when the wind plays tricks with me And shows me your smiling eyes And your parted lips And your warm breath Steady, yet rushed, Passionate, yet cold Nights, when the stars fade and the clouds clear When there's nothing to distract me When you can comfort my demons And come to me Uninhibited Pure Complete You call me beautiful At the cruel dawn When every ray of the rising sun, Reminds me of that dawn When you'd gone You call me beautiful From the deep wrinkles of my almost erased memory And I Like a fool Believe you Because you and only you Ever witnessed me at work Ever saw what I was Because you and only you Were able to destroy me Completely.

bottom of page